Working Group Knowledge Systems and Innovation (AGWI)


This working group recognizes organic agriculture as farming system that is generated by an interplay and interdependency of ecological, social, economic and cultural components.
We concentrate on the actors within this system, the people, focusing on their relationships with each other as well as with their environment. We aim to understand the actors’ characteristics, knowledge and practices. This understanding shall contribute to the development of organic farming.

Our research focuses on the communication and transfer of knowledge, on attitudes and beliefs, and other ‘invisible’ mechanisms that underlie agricultural and environmental practices as well as innovation processes within the organic agriculture system.
We conduct our research on the above named topics mainly in small-scale agricultural systems in rural, urban and, peri-urban areas in Austria, Europe and different countries worldwide. Empirical research forms the basis of projects, master theses and dissertationsCompleted Projects (selection)

Additionally, we teach these topics at the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, and at other universities (e.g. Erasmus intensive programs and summer schools). More about this under studying & teaching. We also communicate our findings to the wider public.

Read more about our team. A collection of materials generated within our projects is published as AGWI-media.

Contact & information folder

Head: Ao. Univ. Prof. Dr. Christian R. Vogl

FOLDER AGWI (DE) / FOLDER AGWI (EN) / FOLDER AGWI (ES)

POSTER AGWI (DE)

BANNER AGWI (DE)

Arbeitsgruppe Wissenssysteme und Innovationen (AGWI)


Biologische Landwirtschaft ist ein System von ökologischen, sozialen, ökonomischen und kulturellen Komponenten, die ineinander verzahnt sind und sich wechselseitig beeinflussen. In unserer inter- und transdisziplinären Arbeitsgruppe beschäftigen wir uns mit AkteurInnen, also mit Menschen in diesem System, ihren Beziehungen untereinander sowie mit ihrer Umwelt. Wir wollen ihre Eigenschaften, ihr Wissen und Handeln verstehen.

In unserem Team untersuchen wir die Kommunikation von Wissen zwischen den AkteurInnen, ihre Werte und Einstellungen, sowie Innovationen und Innovationsprozesse, die aus diesem System generiert werden. Aus den Ergebnissen werden Beiträge für die Weiterentwicklung der ökologischen Landwirtschaft formuliert und die Anwendungsmöglichkeiten untersucht. Mehr über unser Forschungsinteresse unter Themen.

Die Untersuchungen finden vorwiegend in kleinstrukturierten ländlichen, urbanen und periurbanen Landnutzungssystemen in Österreich, Europa und in verschiedenen anderen Ländern weltweit statt – im Rahmen von Projekten, Dissertationen und Master bzw. Diplomarbeiten.

Darüber hinaus vertreten wir diese Themen in der universitären Lehre an der BOKU, an anderen Universitäten (z.B. Erasmus Intensivprogramme, Sommerschulen), sowie durch Dienstleistungen gegenüber der Gesellschaft. Mehr dazu unter Studium & Lehre. Dort finden interessierte Studierende auch die derzeit ausgeschriebenen Themen für Masterarbeiten.

Unter Blog finden alle Interessierten verschiedene Materialien zu und aus unseren Aktivitäten.

Kontakt & Infofolder

Leitung: Ao. Univ. Prof. Dr. Christian R. Vogl

FOLDER AGWI (DE) / FOLDER AGWI (EN) / FOLDER AGWI (ES)

THEMEN-POSTER AGWI (DE)

BANNER AGWI (DE)