Aversano-Dearborn, Valentina


Valentina Aversano-Dearborn, M.A.

WG Transdisciplinary Systems Research

Address: Gregor Mendel Strasse 33, 1180 Wien
Office: Gregor Mendel Strasse 33, top floor
Tel.: (+43)1/47654-3776
Fax: (+43)1/47654-3792
E-Mail: valentina.aversano(at)boku.ac.at

 

 

 

Valentina Aversano-Dearborn is part of the sociological and management teams of the UmiS project. This transdisciplinary project focuses on sustainable forms of living and business through analysis of six Benedictine monasteries in Germany and Austria carried out with five interdisciplinary partners (www.umis.at).
She studied sociology at the Catholic University of Eichstaett-Ingolstadt (Germany) and the University of Trent (Italy). Subsequently, completed a master’s degree in “European Institutions and Regional Governance” in Eichstätt as well as a master’s in “Sociology of Contemporary Societies” in Paris at the Sorbonne V. While the subject of her master’s thesis was a case study on the market success of an organic product (Bionade), in her PhD she focuses on aspects of organics in the context of resilience, food sovereignty, sufficiency, alternative forms of life- and working styles, degrowth, spirituality and sustainability etc.
Practical experiences range from working in governmental and non-governmental institutions (NGOs) to an organic farm and a public energy supplier in France. Valentina is an Alumni of the Heinrich Böll Foundation and is currently active in the youth team of the Eco-Social Forum.

Aversano-Dearborn, Valentina


Valentina Aversano-Dearborn, M.A.

Arbeitsgruppe Transdisziplinäre Systemforschung

Postadresse: Gregor Mendel Strasse 33, 1180 Wien
Bürostandort: Gregor Mendel Strasse 33, Dachgeschoß
Tel.: (+43)1/47654-3776
Fax: (+43)1/47654-3792
E-Mail: valentina.aversano(at)boku.ac.at

 

 

 

Valentina Aversano-Dearborn ist im tansdisziplinären Projekt „UmiS“ im Teilbereich Soziologie als Forscherin und in der Koordination des Gesamtprojekts aktiv. Das UmiS Projekt beschäftigt sich mit Nachhaltigen Wirtschafts- und Lebensstilen und untersucht in diesem Kontext – zusammen mit fünf interdisziplinären Partnern, sechs Benediktinische Klöster in Österreich und Deutschland (www.umis.at).
Valentina hat Soziologie an der Katholischen Universität Eichsätt-Ingolstadt und der Università degli Studi di Trento (Italien) studiert. Weiterhin hat sie ein Doppeldiplom-Masterstudium in „Europäische Institutionen und Regionale Governance“ in Eichstätt, sowie in “Sociologie des sociétés contemporaines” in Paris an der Sorbonne V abgeschlossen. Während sie in ihrer Masterarbeit den Markterfolg eines Bioproduktes (Bionade) untersuchte, forscht sie im Rahmen ihrer Dissertation u.a. an Themen wie: „Bio“ im Kontext von Resilienz, Ernährungssouveränität, Suffizienz und Alternativen Lebens- und Arbeitsformen, Spiriutalität und Nachhaltigkeit, Postwachstum, Decroissance etc.
Praktische Erfahrungen sammelte sie sowohl in staatlichen- als auch in Nicht-staatlichen Organisationen (NGOs), bei einem Biobetrieb sowie bei einem Vertreiber von erneuerbaren Energien. Valentina ist Alumna der Heinrich Böll Stiftung und ist ehrenamtlich aktiv im Ökosozialen Studierendenforum.