About the Division


The Division of Organic Farming (IfÖL) is based on a student initiative that started in the 1970s. In 1996, the division was officially founded. Today it is one of three divisions of the Department of Sustainable Agro Systems. Read more about the history of the division.

The central tasks of this division are research and teaching related to organic farming and relevant social areas as well as related services and public relations.

 

The Division of Organic Farming has a total of five positions in the scientific field, one position for the laboratory, one technician and one secretarial post as well as about 20 scientific assistants that work in three working groups (see also People).

The Division of Organic Farming bundles a spectrum of competences from the natural and social scientific fields for the area of expertise of organic farming, its related food sector as well as adjacent fields such as sustainability research. Our central questions are:

  • How can organic farming be further developed as a guidance system for agriculture and nutrition in the 21st century and at the same time keep its original qualities?
  • What is necessary in order to make the system of organic farming socially available as a guidance system?
  • Which impulses and inputs can organic farming offer for other social subsystems?

The Division of Organic Farming mainly contributes to the following competence fields of the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences:

  • Soil and Terrestrial Ecosystems
  • Food – Nutrition – Health
  • Renewable Raw Materials and Resource-Oriented Technologies
  • Water – Atmosphere – Environment
  • Resources and Social Dynamics

Division Mission Statement

In Austria, with its high company and area percentage organic farming plays a vital role. Based on this, the Division sees its mission in contributing substantially to the advancement of organic farming and nutrition.

Organic farming is not only a specific way of food production and related nutrition. Its systematic holistic approach in its practical application leads to the development of further thoughts for developmental processes, theoretical and methodological foundations and applications of science and teaching for organic farming. In research and teaching we try to incorporate the systemic character of organic farming. Research questions are developed in their systemic context. Results of disciplinary and interdisciplinary nature are evaluated based on their effects for the overall system.

By interdisciplinary research we mean that researchers work together on overarching research question. Doing so, they take into account the interfaces of the individual disciplines. By transdisciplinary research we mean that research questions are developed from a common discourse with protagonists. Research process steps are discussed and results are jointly evaluated. Download: Research Methodology in Organic Farming (in German).

The IFOAM principals of organic farming offer a framework for research. In the focus of this farming method there is the principle of a mainly closed farm cycle which in its basic concept also holds true for regional cycles (especially taking the up- and downstream sectors of agricultural production into account). The simultaneous consideration of environmental impacts, social and economic effects on the micro- and macro levels are all integral parts of the organic farming code of practice.

The research orientation at the division is closely connected with the idea of human ecology which highlights the relationship between humans and nature and society and environment respectively. The human ecological perspective and the holistic approach of organic farming require the use of natural scientific, socio-cultural and socio-economic methods and theories. It therefore suggests itself that disciplinary boundaries in research processes are – and have to be - overstepped again and again and that cross-institutional cooperation is aimed for.

The concept in teaching organic farming is oriented towards a specific approach – which is system-oriented and interdisciplinary. Apart from mere content-related topics about the practical realization of organic approaches, also scientific methodology and theory as well as philosophical and ethical questions are covered in the courses offered.

Über das Institut


Die Einrichtung des Instituts für Ökologischen Landbau (IfÖL) basiert auf einer studentischen Initiative in den 1970er Jahren. Im Jahr 1996 erfolgte die Institutsgründung. Heute ist es eines von drei Instituten des Departments für Nachhaltige Agrarsysteme. Mehr über die Geschichte des Instituts.

Die zentralen Aufgaben des Instituts sind Forschung und Lehre zur Ökologischen Landwirtschaft und daran anschließende gesellschaftlich relevante Themen, sowie die damit verbundenen Dienstleistungen und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

Das IfÖL verfügt über insgesamt fünf Planstellen im wissenschaftlichen Bereich, eine Labor-, eine Techniker- und eine Sekretariatsstelle, sowie ca. 20 wissenschaftliche MitarbeiterInnen, die auf drei Arbeitsgruppen aufgeteilt sind.

Das IfÖL bündelt ein Spektrum von natur- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Kompetenzen auf dem Gebiet der Ökologischen Landwirtschaft, dem damit verbundenen Ernährungssektor sowie angrenzenden Themenfeldern der Nachhaltigkeitsforschung. Unsere zentralen Leitfragen sind:

  • Wie kann die Ökologische Landwirtschaft als Leitsystem für die Landwirtschaft und Ernährung im 21. Jahrhundert unter Beibehaltung seiner originären Qualitäten weiterentwickelt werden?
  • Was ist erforderlich, um das System Ökologische Landwirtschaft als das Leitsystem gesellschaftlich zugänglich zu machen?
  • Welche Impulse und Beiträge kann die Ökologische Landwirtschaft für andere gesellschaftliche Teilsysteme liefern?

Das Institut für Ökologischen Landbau leistet vor allem Beiträge zu den folgenden BOKU-Kompetenzfeldern:

  • Boden- und Landökosysteme
  • Lebensmittel – Ernährung – Gesundheit
  • Nachwachsende Rohstoffe und ressourcenorientierte Technologien
  • Wasser – Atmosphäre – Umwelt
  • Ressourcen und gesellschaftliche Dynamik

Institutsleitbild

Wie kaum in einem anderen Land der Welt, spielt der Ökolandbau in Österreich mit seinem hohen Betriebs- und Flächenanteil eine herausragende Rolle. Vor diesem Hintergrund sieht das Institut seinen Auftrag darin, einen maßgeblichen Beitrag zur Weiterentwicklung der Ökologischen Landwirtschaft und Ernährungsweise beizutragen.

Die Ökologische Landwirtschaft ist nicht nur eine spezifische Form der Lebensmittelproduktion und damit verbundenen Ernährungsweise. Ihr systemischer ganzheitlicher Ansatz in der Praxis führt zu weiterführenden Überlegungen in der Ausrichtung, theoretischen und methodischen Fundierung und Umsetzung der Wissenschaften und Lehre zur Ökologischen Landwirtschaft. In Forschung und Lehre wird versucht, weitgehend den Systemcharakter der ökologischen Landwirtschaft zu berücksichtigen. Forschungsfragen werden im Systemzusammenhang entwickelt. Ergebnisse disziplinärer oder interdisziplinärer Natur werden in ihren Auswirkungen auf das Gesamtsystem Ökologische Landwirtschaft hin bewertet.

Interdisziplinarität meint, dass ForscherInnen eine übergeordnete Forschungsfrage unter Berücksichtigung der Schnittstellen zwischen den Einzeldisziplinen gemeinsam bearbeiten. Transdisziplinarität wird so verstanden, dass Forschungsfragen aus einem gemeinsamen Diskurs mit AkteurInnen entwickelt, Prozessschritte der Forschung diskutiert und Ergebnisse gemeinsam bewertet werden. Download: Forschungsmethodik im Ökologischen Landbau.

Die IFOAM Prinzipien der Biologischen Landwirtschaft stellen eine Orientierung gebende Rahmenkonzeption für die Forschung dar. Im Zentrum dieser Landbaumethode steht das Prinzip des weitgehend geschlossenen Betriebskreislaufes, der vom Grundgedanken her auch für regionale Kreisläufe (d.h. unter Bedachtnahme insbesondere der vor- und nachgelagerten Sektoren der landwirtschaftlichen Produktion) gilt. Die gleichzeitige Beachtung von Umweltwirkungen, sozialen sowie ökonomischen Wirkungen auf der Mikro- und Makroebene, gehören zum Selbstverständnis der Praxis der Biologischen Landwirtschaft.

Die Ausrichtung der Forschung am Institut ist eng mit der Idee der Humanökologie verbunden, welche die Beziehungen zwischen Mensch und Natur bzw. Gesellschaft und Umwelt hervorhebt. Die humanökologische Perspektive und der holistische Ansatz der Biologischen Landwirtschaft erfordern den Einsatz naturwissenschaftlicher, sozio-kultureller und sozioökonomischen Methoden und Theorien. Naheliegend ist, dass disziplinäre Grenzen im Forschungsprozess immer wieder überschritten werden (müssen) und institutsübergreifende Zusammenarbeit angestrebt wird.

Das Konzept in der Lehre zur Ökologischen Landwirtschaft orientiert sich an einem spezifischen Zugang – systemorientiert und interdisziplinär. Neben rein inhaltlichen Themen über die praktische Umsetzung der Ökologischen Wirtschaftsweise, werden auch wissenschaftsmethodische, -theoretische, philosophische und ethische Fragestellungen in den Lehrangeboten behandelt.