Christine Leeb


Dr. Christine (Tina) Leeb

Dr. Christine (Tina) Leeb

During my studies of veterinary medicine I was interested in animal behaviour, animal health, appropriate husbandry and breeds, but also in more “exotic” topics such as homoeopathy and tropical veterinary medicine. During the summers I was milking cows on an alpine farm, where my love for working with cows, goats and pigs deepened.
                               
My doctoral thesis “Assessment of housing systems for pregnant sows in practise – management, husbandry and animal based parameters” was carried out at the Institute of Animal Husbandry and Animal Welfare (Prof. Troxler). For the following four years I was working as “Matthew Eyton Resident for Farm Animal Health and Welfare“at the University of Bristol, which I completed with the „RCVS Certificate for Animal welfare science, ethics and law– CertWEL“. The species and topics I had the pleasure to work with were versatile: Fundamental research on feather pecking, welfare assessment of finishing pigs and working equines in Kenya, improvement of farm animal health by “health and welfare planning”. As a Postdoc I was working on the DEFRA project „Incorporation of existing animal welfare assessment techniques into organic certification and farming“, developing and applying animal based parameters for certification of organic farms.

After those wonderful British years I worked at the Teaching and Research Farm of the Veterinary University in Vienna, being responsible for herd management, teaching and research. Together with students I was able to teach with and to learn from the University pig, sheep and goat herd – an important experience! After that the projects “BEP- Implementation and Monitoring of Health and Welfare Plans in Austrian organic pig farms”, „CoreOrganic–ANIPLAN“and „CoreOrganic–CORE-Pig“ were funded. Therefore I decided to move to Boku in order to apply and intensify my knowledge and enthusiasm in the area of on farm welfare assessment and improvement.
My favourite occupations are included in my job –travelling and communicating with people and animals. Additionally I love to go hiking, cooking, gardening, bird watching…

Projects, publications, presentations,...

 

 

Emma, the „Alpine Pasture Wooly Pig“ (Mangalitza)
International „ANIPLAN Workshop“ in the mountains
Joy and fun

Christine Leeb


Dr. Christine (Tina) Leeb

Dr. Christine (Tina) Leeb

Während des Tiermedizinstudiums interessierte ich mich für das Verhalten der Tiere und die Erhaltung der Gesundheit, die richtige Haltung, angepasste Rassen, aber auch für „exotische“ Fächer wie Homöopathie und Tropentiermedizin. Im Sommer lebte ich als Sennerin auf einer Alm, wo ich die Freude an der Arbeit mit Kühen, Ziegen und Schweinen vertiefte.

Am Institut für Tierhaltung und Tierschutz (Prof. Troxler) promovierte ich zum Thema „Beurteilung von Haltungssystemen für tragende Zuchtsauen in der Praxis – Management, Aufstallung und tierbezogene Parameter“. Vier Jahre arbeitete ich als „Matthew Eyton Resident for Farm Animal Health and Welfare“ auf der Universität Bristol, wo ich mit einem „RCVS Certificate für Animal welfare science, ethics and law– CertWEL“ abschloss. Die Tierarten, mit denen ich in Bristol arbeiten konnte, waren ebenso vielfältig wie die Forschungsprojekte: Grundlagenforschung zum Thema Federpicken, welfare assessment bei Mastschweinen, Arbeitseseln in Kenia und Verbesserung der Tiergesundheit durch „health and welfare planning“ bei landwirtschaftlichen Nutztieren. Außerdem arbeitete ich als Postdoc für das DEFRA Projekt „Incorporation of existing animal welfare assessment techniques into organic certification and farming“ – wobei tierbezogene Parameter zur Zertifizierung von biologisch wirtschaftenden Betrieben erarbeitet wurden.
Nach den wundervollen englischen Jahren arbeitete ich am Lehr- und Forschungsgut Kremesberg der Veterinärmedizinischen Universität als Verantwortliche für Herdenbetreuung, Lehre und Forschung im Schweinebereich. Hier konnte ich gemeinsam mit StudentInnen anhand der Sauenherde im Stall lehren und lernen – eine wichtige Erfahrung! Danach wurden die Projekte „BEP Bioschwein – Implementierung und Monitoring von BetriebsEntwicklungsPlänen Tiergesundheit und Wohlbefinden` auf österreichischen Bioschweinebetrieben“ sowie „CoreOrganic–ANIPLAN“ und „CoreOrganic–Corepig“ bewilligt, sodass ich mich entschied, an der BOKU mein Wissen und Engagement rund um Beurteilung und Verbesserung von Tiergesundheit und Wohlbefinden anzuwenden und zu vertiefen.

Meine Lieblingstätigkeiten sind durch meinen Beruf fast abgedeckt – Reisen und Kommunikation mit Mensch und Tier. Danach gehe ich gerne bergwandern, koche, „bird watching“, „gardening“ …


Projekte, Publikationen, Präsentationen,...

 

 

Emma, das „Almwollschwein“ (Mangalitza)
Internationaler „ANIPLAN Workshop“ in den Bergen
Lebenslust und Bewegungsfreude